Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Album Review: "Today" by 33Miles

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars
Genre: Pop/Rock/Country Pop

In 2007, 33Miles debuted with their first album, "33Miles." Since then, they have released two other albums, one of them being a Christmas album and the other being One Life featuring the hit songs "One Life to Love" and "Jesus Calling." Now, in 2010, they have released their fourth album "Today." The band is different now, however. Collin Stoddard (keyboard/backing vocals) left the band earlier this year and now there are only two band members, Jason Barton and Chris Lockwood. Now the question is, can 33Miles still make good music with one less band member? The answer: Yes.
The album begins with the catchy, upbeat song "What Grace Looks Like" which tells everyone that if they want to know what grace looks like to just look around at all that God has done us. Some of the lines from the chorus go "If you want to know what Grace looks like, let Love open up your eyes...It’s all around, look and see what God does for you and me." With the "oh, ah, oh"s in the beginning and end, "What Grace Looks Like" makes for a fun song and is one of my favourites off the album.
"Hold Me Up" follows "What Grace Looks Like" on the album. The song is a reminder to Christians
that we need God to hold us up and give us strength. We cannot do all this alone and we must rely on God for help.
The fourth track, and first single, on Today is "Where I Wanna Go." It talks about our future dwelling place-heaven. 33Miles sing "That's where I wanna go. That's where I wanna stand" in reference to heaven. This is a slower track with a great message.
Another significant song of the album is "Live." This is a song written by Jason, of 33Miles, to his sister who, as he says "started to lose her enthusiasm for life" after some bad relationships. The song declares "You're worth enough that He died for you. His Heart burns with love and desire for you. Don't be afraid to receive. Don't be afraid to believe that you can live." "Live" is an encouraging song for anyone going through depression or similar times.
My favourite song on the entire album is the title track "Today." It is a catchy song with a great rhythm. Jason and Chris of 33Miles sing about living for God at every moment. The chorus says "Right here, right now I'm living for You and nothing else...All I got is the moment I'm in and I don't ever want to waste. This gift, this chance, right here, right now today." This song also talks about finding peace and joy in God when life isn't perfect. Some albums you'll find their title track to be a disappointment, but you won't find that here. This is a great song and totally deserved the honour of having the album named after it.
The Today album finishes up with the song "Worth The Wait." This song is about waiting for an answer from God. The song states "God has perfect timing. Never early, never late. It takes a little patience and it takes a lot of faith, but it’s worth the wait." I found this song to be a great closer and very meaningful and a good reminder to all Christians waiting for an answer from God.
This is actually my first album to hear from 33Miles. I did not know what to expect from it before I listened as I have never heard any of their music before. But I must say, this album is great. If you are a fan of Matthew West, Jars of Clay, and similar artists, you need to listen to this album as it has a lot of good songs worth listening to

Top 3 Songs:
  1. Today
  2. What Grace Looks Like
  3. Live

  1. What Grace Looks Like
  2. Hold Me Up
  3. Where I Wanna Go
  4. Live
  5. No Greater Love
  6. Calling My Name
  7. Today
  8. Underneath
  9. Arms That Hold The Universe
  10. Worth The Wait


Anonymous said...

Congratulations on your new blog Justin! This is a great review and I love your site too! O can't wait to see what else you have in store!
PS. I just had to be the first one to comment on your blog! :D

Justin Morden said...

Thanks, Sam! I appreciate it! :) You were an inspiration to me to start this blog. :)

Anonymous said...

Thanks Justin, I'm very honoured! :) I'm glad to be your brother site! :)

Justin Morden said...

You're welcome, Sam! I am honored to have God Tunes Reviews as my brother site. :)

Josh said...

Good album review I read it before :)

Justin Morden said...

Thank you, Josh!